Men Finish Second; Women Place Fourth at Summit Championships

Photo courtesy of

Photo courtesy of

INDIANAPOLIS - The IUPUI men's swimming and diving team hemmed up a runner-up finish at the 2016 Summit League Swimming & Diving Championships on Saturday night (Feb. 20) while the women's program finished fourth overall inside the IUPUI Natatorium. All total, the Jaguars established seven new school records on the meet's final night, including a championship effort from Jon Stoller.

Stoller became the first IUPUI men's swimmer to capture an individual event since 2004 when he edged Denver's Tim Cottam for the 200 breaststroke title, touching the wall to set a new school record and NCAA B cut time of 1:58.61. Stoller was greeted by the loudest cheer of the night as he received his gold medal atop the podium, prompting a fist pump from the IUPUI sophomore.

"I knew he had it with about 75 (yards) left," IUPUI Head Coach Matt Bos said. "He looked really good at that point and we knew he'd close well. He had a really good meet all around."

Freshman Ben Levart started the night well in the mile, setting a new school record in both the 1,000 and 1,650 in a fourth-place finish. He closed his opening 1,000 at 9:22.12 before ending his race at 15:33.19.

Alexis Bullard earned a spot on the podium in the 200 backstroke, finishing third at 2:01.17.

The next school record fell in the women's 100 freestyle when Maranda Buha touched in a time of 50.91, taking fifth-place in the A-finals. Earlier, senior Mary Klueh won the B-Final in a time of 52.66. The Jaguars sprinters continued to flex their muscles in the men's 100 free finals when Lennart Kuester recorded a school record time of 44.53 in a third-place finish. Both Trenton Wolfe and Jared Allen also qualified for the A-Final earlier in the day and placed sixth and seventh, respectively.

Junior Melissa Berger continued her strong weekend on the boards, taking second-place off the 3-meter board with a score of 268.05. Classmate Bailey Wills had an exceptional prelims round, but ultimately finished sixth at 228.95.

The night ended with back-to-back relay records in the 400 free relays, beginning with the women's quartet setting a new standard of 3:26.61 in a runner-up finish. The men followed with a similar second-place finish at 2:58.55, just ahead of South Dakota State's relay team.

At the close of business, IUPUI freshman Kristzian Somhegyi was named men's Championship Diving MVP and Erik Barnes was voted men's Diving Coach of the Year. Somhegyi joins Mitchell Gauger (2013) and Cody Watts (2014) as recipients of the award while Barnes is the program's first-ever honoree.

Photo courtesy of

Photo courtesy of

This article was originally published on February 20, 2016 at, the Official Site of IUPUI Athletics.